thumb-Julius M. Shamu~1

Nominees have been revealed for the inaugural Cape Town Zimbabwe Excellence Awards. The awards will headline a gala dinner that will be held at the Cape Town International Convention Centre to celebrate the success and impact of the Zimbabwean community in the coastal city.

Eight awards will be given out on April 4, namely, News leader/Journalist, Sports Personality, Entertainment Personality, Community Leader, Small Business, Businessperson, Business Organisation of the Year Awards and and the Overall Zimbabwe Excellence Award.

Shamstone Production, Entertainment and Impress Clothing is organising the awards. “The red carpet event seeks to recognize and acknowledge individuals and companies that are flying the Zimbabwean flag high in Cape Town,” Julius Shamu, Director of Cape Town Zimbabwe Excellence Awards, said.

He said despite some challenges faced in South Africa, Zimbabweans had managed to demonstrate resilience and build success in their selected undertakings and ventures. “The Cape Town awards seek to honour those individuals who have played positive roles within the city of Cape Town and the Western Cape.

“This acknowledgement will encourage them to continue with a culture of success as they remain an inspiration to their fellow compatriots and the community of Cape Town at large,” Shamu said. Sponsors of the event include Mukuru Money Transfer, Cutting Edge Tents, Moonlight Funeral Services, Impress Clothing, Dreamworld Promotions and Uhuru Institute of Management Training.


Sports personality of the year award
Osmond Matunde

News leader/Journalist of the year award
Frank Mushakavanhu
Patient Gomba
Weston Hussein

Entertainment Personality of the year
Bezel Tinashe Mbofana
Albert Zanganembo
Witness Morgan Chasara

Community Leader of the year award
Patient Gomba
Edmore Mazungunye
Tinotenda Daniel Muzofa

Small Business of the year award
Ethel ChipoMukuku (Ethelic Boutique)
Davison Munyuki (Divine Robes)
Weston Hussein (Wasilla Projects)
Cryson Nhamoyebonde (You drink we drive)

Business person of the year award
Prince Bolo Sithole (Cutting Edge Tents)
Bright Chimutashu (Dharican International)
Godfrey Madanhire (Dreamworld Promotions)
MoreboysMunetsi (ZororoPumlani)

Business Organisation of the year award
Bright Chimutashu (Dharican International)
MoreboysMunetsi (ZororoPumlani Funeral Services)
Godfrey Madanhire (Dreamworld Promotions)
Prince Bolo Sithole (Cutting Edge Tents)

The Overall Zimbabwe Excellence Award
Godfrey Madanhire
Bright Chimutashu
Prince Bolo Sithole
Joel Guy Chabata
Weston Hussein
Albert Zanganembo

This article was originally published on Makamba Online

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.